New Jersey Graduated Driver License (GDL) Simplified
New Jersey residents who never had a driver license must follow NJ's GDL program to get their unrestricted basic driver license. The GDL is designed to give new drivers increased, step-by-step instruction and driving experience on the road to obtaining a basic driver license The GDL has been proven to save lives among new drivers and their passengers. Below is a list of the restrictions associated with GDL program. You may not agree with the law or these restrictions, but we as a department enforce them because we do not want anything like this to happen to someone you know and love.
No Driving Between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
Only one Passenger
The only exceptions from this is if a parent or guardian is in the vehicle also or the other passenger's are the driver's dependents. If a parent or guardian is present than more than one passenger is allowed. An older sibling, older cousin, etc does not constitute a parent or guardian.
Drivers cannot use cell phones (hand held or hands free), hand held video games or any other hand-held wireless electronic device (i.e. iPods, GPS).
All special learners and examination permit holders must be accompanied by an adult supervising driver in the front seat who must possess a valid NJ driver license, be at least 21 years of age, and licensed to drive for at least 3 years
GDL and permit drivers MUST display decals at all times on license plates
Every passenger of the vehicle must wear a seat belt